top of page

Learning to Love Veggies...

Updated: Feb 25, 2021


Have you ever decided you were going to make changes in your diet or try a detox? Anytime I've done this in the past, I was always told to eat more fruits and veggies...DUH! Unfortunately, I have always been a super picky eater...just ask my mom or my close friends!


Salads have always been my way of coping with the dilemma of trying to get more plants in my diet since cooked veggies have NEVER been my thing. I recently had one of my college roommates ask if I was still hooked on salads,. LOL! Sadly, yes.


About 2 years ago, when I got serious about healing my body and getting hold of all the symptoms, I knew I had to change my ways. I pledged to add 1 new veggie a month and learn to cook and like it.


I've added quite a few and feel quite proud of my efforts. Things really began to change when I knocked out the sugar and sweetness from my diet. Funny thing happened...my tastebuds changed. I can now eat a range of veggies, mostly still raw, but even some cooked. Progress!


Since we're in the fall, I thought I would share one of my favorite squash recipes. I discovered it last fall when I decided I would add veggies based on their season. This recipe calls for butternut squash, but I now like and almost exclusively eat spaghetti squash instead of spaghetti noodles, zucchini and yellow squash as noodles, cooked on the grill and roasted. My mom would call this a miracle.


What is your favorite squash recipe? I'm especially looking for a good savory, not sweet, butternut squash soup recipe OR roasted butternut squash Thanksgiving type recipe. Share below.


Here is the link Slow Cooker Turkey Chili with Butternut Squash by slowcookergourmet.net ** This is spicy, so if you are suffering with hot flashes, you may need to tone this down. Spicy can definitely affect your internal thermostat!



It's too late to sign up for the free challenge. Look for more to come.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page